Support Forum

You need to log in to create posts and topics.

Rules Questions

Via mail I received some questions regarding the current ruleset.

Here they are along with my replys:

 

Shout

Do shouts affect the shouter?

-> Yes, they do!

If I make a movement and do a shout at the same time, when is earshot measured?

-> Anytime during movement you can make your shout. Whenever you say "now", you halt your movement for the moment, you shout, you measure earshot, you continue your movement.
 
 
Shout vs Command

Are commands also shouts? Do the rules for shouts apply to commands also? It seems like this is the intention but the rules do not state it explicitly.

-> They do! p.47 under "Commander", 2nd Paragraph reads: 
A skill marked explicitly as a “Command" requires one skill action to use. During this action, the player of the affected ally gets to perform an out of turn action with his Hero.
 

Gogogo!

“Each affected ally may move up to +1# per movement action and per die on his hand on his next turn.”

-> Looks incredibly powerful, doesn't it? 🙂
Let's see, what the latest iteration of rules (currently only available to me) says:
 

(G) : Each affected ally receives 1 “Gogogo!” counter.

(C)  : The Hero may move up to +1# per movement action and per die on his Hand after the counter has been removed during Upkeep.

((G) = Skill pip, (C) = Counter - in that case the "Gogogo!" counter! Counters of the same kind produce stacks of counters with each counter affecting the number in the description the same way as a skill pip affects a number. During "Upkeep" (which takes place right after you move your card) each stack loses 1 counter; you can take this rule as a rule of thumb for skills. Other counters have requirements for removal different than "Upkeep is coming".)
 
I think, this description clarifys the skill a bit: Each affected hero can get a number of additional movement actions equal to the number of skill pips rolled.
 
 

Throw Dirt

Which text is correct?

PDF: “Each opponent within a reach of 1# may not perform an action requiring a target other than himself on his next turn.”

App: “Each opponent within a reach of 1# may neither perform an attack action nor use an attack skill on his next turn”

-> Again, the newest iteration of rules says:

 

(G): Each opponent within a reach of 1# receives 1 counter.

(C): Hero may not perform an action requiring a target other than himself on his  turn. This effect is active during the turn in which the last counter has been removed during Upkeep, too!

So, the PDF remains correct 🙂

If you want to, you can imagine the skill like that: You Hero throws dirt into the eyes of each opponent within 1#. The affected opponents are now only aware of themselves, as they cannot see the rest of the battlefield anymore 🙂

So, maybe I should write instead: Hero may perform only actions that either do not require a target at all or that do not require a target other than himself on his turn. This effect ... (and so on).

 

Delay

Not really a question about the rules but, for us, delays seem a little overpowered if you can see that your hero is up next and always use any delayed actions on the turn before your hero’s turn. For that reason, we play that your delay counters are removed as soon as your hero’s card is the top card of the initiative deck.

-> On the one hand, delaying your action does this exactly: you can delay your actions until your very nex turn. However, there is still the paragraph on page 32 reading:

When using a delayed action, you are “reacting“ and thus have to announce a “reaction“. Reacting allows you to perform a movement or an attack action only. While using a skill action is generally forbidden, there are some skills overwriting this rule, stating explicitly that you may use them as a reaction. Those skills are the exception to this rule!
If you do not use your delayed actions until the beginning of your next turn, you lose them completely. You have to remove your delay counters and if you want to get them back, you have to delay actions as described above.

So most of the time, delaying an action you are reducing your options by forgoing your potential to unleash your powerful skills!

 

The way you play it, I can see another issue: 

Delaying becomes a gamble, as you never know, when your card is going to be the next one to be on top!

If you are the first in the initiative deck, you can delay your actions, well knowing your card won't show up during the rest of the phase.

However, if you are last, you won't delay your actions, as you might be the first during the next phase.

With delaying being a gamble, the point of delaying becomes lost! 

Then again, W&S is all about moving around and slapping your foes around. You shouldn't delay your actions too often anyway!

 

Zealots with armor?

Are zealots not allowed to have any defense pips?

This is a question for rule lawyers 🙂
Let's see, what the rules say.
Page 76 reads:
"To use spells from the Zealot's range, your Hero may neither wield any kind of weapon (magic wands and staffs are permitted, though), nor is he permitted to wear any kind of armor".
So, no armor, apparently.
Reading on (or rather, back), on page 40 we find a definition of Armor:
"Robes or no armour do not permit any number of pips in Defence at all.
Light armour (e.g. padded, leather, fur, …) allows up to 1 Defence pip per face.
Medium armour (chains, scales, banded, …) allows up to 2 Defence pips per face.
Heavy armour (splint mail, plate mail) allows up to 3 Defence pips per face.
A shield of any kind raises the maximum allowance by 1 pip per face."
 
So, if you find a workaround where a Zealot can have defense pips without wearing armor, all the more power to you.
 
Also: Yes, I'm aware of Bito van Ostmark, who contradicts the rules for a Zealot ... The new rulebook will take care of him, too! 🙂
 

Damballa vs respawn

If a Hero is under another player’s control via Damballa, does that Hero not respawn until the Damballa wears off?

 
In the latest rules I have added the following paragraph to Damballa's description:

As long as Damballa is active, the Vessel still counts as dead and thus is a valid target for spells requiring dead Heroes. If the dead Hero gets wasted or resurrected, Damballa immediately leaves!

So, technically you can bring back a Hero under Damballa's control by casting a resurrect. 

Also, Damballa now works with counters: The "Damballa'd" Hero is only under the caster's control for as long as there are counters on him. And the rules for respawning state: "all kinds of counters are removed from the Hero".

To put it simple: Respawning removes Damballa's effect.

The current rules state:

"As soon as your Hero dies, at the beginning of the next phase you may put him at full health into his corner and act with him as soon as his Hero Card gets drawn. Also, all kinds of effects (conditions, enchantments, …), even those considered “permanent“ (e.g. “reduce the Dicepool permanently by so-and-so-many dice“) are removed from the Hero.
Basically the respawning Hero becomes reset, if you want to put it like this."

Technically, these sentences pretty much say the same thing ... probably not precisely enough 🙂

 

Thanks for your questions, Dylan and crew!

You've shown me quite some things I need to rewrite even in the new rulebook!

 

Happy slaughtering and kind regards,

Kai